No better day than a Day Off

Hello!

Today is my day off from work, but not from school. Oh well…there is no such thing like complete happiness, right? 😉

Anyway, today was good day! (We should be grateful for all the things and people that we already have in our lives. Maybe then we would realize how many good things we have, and we can feel happier.)  🙂

My morning started off by me worrying about some super ripe (almost dead) bananas that I had. I know, this is pretty lame, but I don’t like wasting food. So I decided to find a recipe of a banana protein bread, something healthy, but in the same time good tasting. 😉

Success! 🙂 I found Little B’s recipe for a Pumpkin Banana Protein Bread! I should say this was a double winner, because I had already open a can of pumpkin. So let me show you the ingredients and how it looked!

Before

Still before

After

With bananas, greek yogurt and cinnamon

Pumpkin Banana Protein Bread

Ingredients:

1/3 cup oats

1 cup oat flour

2 scoops protein powder

1/8 cup truvia

1 tsp cinnamon

1 ripe banana

3/4 cup pumpkin puree

1 whole egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp baking soda

pinch of salt

Preheat the oven to 350F. Mix everything in a big bowl until well combined. Grease a bread pan. Pour the mixture in it. Smooth it out. Bake for about 25 min or until done. (Time in the oven may vary.)

***The whole loaf of bread has about 733 cal.***

I used MyFitnessPal app to calculate the calories and the amount of macronutrients.  So just cut it up in how many pieces you want, according to your preference and caloric needs. (Example: If you cut it in 8 pieces, this would give you less than 100 cal for one piece).

(Keep in mind I calculated the calories for the whole bread!)

My lunch was a no fun zone. I had Lean Cuisine Shrimp Alfredo and Broccoli Pasta. I didn’t like the shrimps! They were raw it looks like, I am not sure! But they were so gross. I ate only the pasta and the broccoli. I think that it is important to listen to our bodies and taste buds, they are talking to us all the time. Sometimes we just ignore them, for the sake of our ”membership” of the ”Clean plate group”. 😉

Lets talk about Dinner! Omg…It was a good one.

Before school I stopped at Seven Eleven for a cup of coffee. I saw their Egg Salad sandwiches and a food craving was immediately born. 😉 I wanted it so bad but the ingredients list was so long that they probably need more paper to fit them all in. I decided that I will be good and wait until I get home and make me Egg Salad. I almost couldn’t concentrate on my test, thinking about how amazing would taste like with all the clean ingredients possible that I have on hand. And it did! 🙂

Dobie’s Clean Egg Salad

Ta-da!

Almost too pretty to eat!

Ingredients:

3 whole eggs, hard-boiled

3 egg whites, hard-boiled

1/4 fat-free cottage cheese

1/3 greek yogurt

3 tablespoons dill pickles relish (no sugar added)

1/4 cup red onion, chopped

2 tsp spicy brown mustard, or any other kind

1/2 tbsp onion powder

1/2 tbsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

pinch of salt     Delish! 🙂

Again I calculated the calories and macronutrints using MyFitnessPal app.

***The whole egg salad ended up being about 416 calories.***

So just divide it up in how many portions you want, according to your preference and caloric needs. (Example: If you divide it in 4 portions, this would give you a little over 100 calories for one portion).

Questions:

How are your food cravings born?

Do you enjoy ”cleaning up” a old-time favorite recipes?

Have a good night all! See you soon! 🙂

About cleaneatstotherescue

I am 27 years old girl with serious passion for healthy living and delicious food! I just created my blog, about my journey back to health, through clean food and exercise. I will be posting my own opinions about my experience with different foods, diets, exercises, etc. ***Please MAKE A NOTE THAT I AM NOT A DOCTOR, PERSONAL TRAINER OR A HEALTH PROFESSIONAL!***
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

