Chilli Chicken Muffins and Protein Falafels

Hello! πŸ™‚

Today I decided to take the day off from the gym and prepare some food for the next couple of days. On the menu tonight is high fiber chilli chicken muffins and protein falafels.

The chicken muffins are my creation, but the falafel recipe I found on http://www.bodybuilding. com.

image

Chilli Chicken Muffins

Ingredients:
1 lb. ground chicken breast meat
1/4 cup instant oats
1 (15 oz.) can kidney beans, rinsed
1 egg
1/4 cup red onions, chopped
1/2 tablespoon chilli power
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon gharam masala
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon thyme
1 teaspoon salt

*( you can use any spices that you like)*

Directions:
In a big mixing bowl mix all the ingredients except the beans. When everything is mixed add the beans and mixed them in.
Use a 6-muffin pan. You can use baking cups and just scoop the mixture into the muffin pan, distribute the mixture evenly in each muffin hole.
Set the oven at 400 F and bake the muffins until golden brown on the tops.
Makes 6 muffins.

image

They really taste like a bowl of Chilli in a muffin form. The beans keep the meat moist, and give the muffin really nice nutty flavour. By combining the two together,Β  you have protein, slow digesting carbs, and fiber all in one portable package.Β  πŸ˜‰

Onto the falafels now! πŸ™‚

image

Protein Falafels

Ingredients:
1 (15 oz.) can of chickpeas (garbanzo beans)
1/2 cup egg whites
3/8 cup unflavoured protein powder
2 garlic cloves
1/4 cup red onions,Β  chopped
1/4 cup instant oats
parsley, cilantro
lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon coriander
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/2 tablespoon salt

*( you can use low sugar pea protein, or any other unflavoured protein)*

Directions:
Put all of the ingredients in a food processor. Mix everything together. You may have to add 1 to 2 tablespoons of water to get everything going. Use a baking sheet. Scoop out 12 even amounts of the mixture onto the baking sheet, just like making cookies.
Preheat the oven to 400 F and bake them until golden brown.
Makes 12 falafels.

Enjoy! πŸ™‚

I had a taste for falafels for a while. I wanted to go and get some, either from Subway, or some middle eastern place. But I don’t think they are healthy, if they are deepfried, or contain tons of added chemicals, to keep them from going bad fast. When I saw the recipe I immediately thought about my tub of vegan protein powder that I didn’t like, but kept it in my cabinet anyway.

image

The first time I used it, I hated it. My taste buds weren’t ready for it. Now I used it, in this falafel recipe, and I think I found new purpose for this protein powder. Because I hate to waste food.

Questions:
How do you prevent wasting food?
Any good recipes with leftover ingredients?

xoxo Dobie
πŸ™‚

About cleaneatstotherescue

I am 27 years old girl with serious passion for healthy living and delicious food! I just created my blog, about my journey back to health, through clean food and exercise. I will be posting my own opinions about my experience with different foods, diets, exercises, etc. ***Please MAKE A NOTE THAT I AM NOT A DOCTOR, PERSONAL TRAINER OR A HEALTH PROFESSIONAL!***
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

