Grocery Store Food Haul #1- Trader Joe’s

Hello there! πŸ™‚

Today I want to share a few of my favorite food items I got from Trader Joe’s. I love this store. It’s just so unique and adorable. Trader Joe’s is definitely cheaper than Whole Foods, but some of the items are still more expensive, than if you buy them from the regular grocery store.
Good example for that are the non-organic bagged apples. The bag of non-organic lady pink apples was $2.99. This means $1.495/lb. In the regular grocery store I can find apples that range from $0.70/lb to $3.99/lb. So that’s why I didn’t buy these apples again.

image

So let’s get started!

● Organic Brown Rice Penne Pasta

image

I bought it because it is gluten free. I think I have a gluten sensitivity. Not the diarrhea kind, but if I have more thanΒ  couple of bites of wheat and I become really bloated and I feel sluggish. I am thinking to go and see a doctor. When I eat gluten free diet I feel awesome, almost like I am flying.Β  I feel light.

● Vegetable Masala Burger

image

I love these veggie burgers. I never had them in a bun, like a real burger. I just eat them as they are, most of the time in a salad. They have mild indian spices flavor. Since I am an indian food fanatic, these babies are right up my alley. πŸ™‚

● Indian Fare

image

I never had these before, but they look promising.Β  I would pair them with basmati rice. I would eat them with a naan too, but I am trying to cut back on the gluten.

● Spinach & Kale Greek Yogurt Dip andΒ Β  Genova Pesto

image

I really like this dip. The first time I bought it I wasn’t too crazy about it, but I bought it again, and I am obsessed now! πŸ™‚ It is creamy, light, flavorful with a little crunch from the carrots in it. Yes, little gems of carrot pieces!

The pesto is going to make appearance in pasta dishes, sandwiches and soups.
● Eggplant Garlic Spread

image

Do you see what is written under spread? Yes, Bulgarian! I am from Bulgaria. Haha! This spead is the best! It is good spead on bread, as a dip or whatever you little heart desires.Β  I love it on a piece of good bread and spinkled with some feta cheese. If you happen to want to eat it like a real Bulgarian would,Β  just do this:

1) warm up your bread
2) spead some of this spread on top of the bread
3) sprinkle some feta cheese
4) enjoy! πŸ˜‰

● Uncured Chicken Hot Dogs

image

I bought these just because I needed one to make my childhood pizza and I didn’t want to drive to another store just for a pack of hot dogs. These hog dogs taste good and are really low in calories.

● Coconut Cranberry Granola

image

I like this granola. I put it in my greek yogurt for breakfast, or just as a snack. This morning I had 1 cup of fresh mango chunks, 1 cup of vanilla bean greek yogurt and 1/4 cup of this granola. It was so good! It tasted so tropical to me! πŸ™‚

● Greek Yogurt NONFAT

image

These yogurts were under $1each. I got three flavors: vanilla bean, mango, and strawberry. The vanilla bean one was inhaled with my breakfast this morning. It had nice flavor and it wasn’t sour.

● Just Almond Meal

image

I love this stuff for baking. I make a variety of protein snacks following different bloggers’ recipes. I may future some of my favorite ones later on my blog.

● Blueberry Cheesecake Ice Cream Wedges

image

OMG!!! These are divine! The graham cracker crumbs are not too much. They put enough of them to remind you of cheesecake, but one little wedge is just 100 calories! Perfect! I wish they had different flavors available in the store.

I didn’t buy any produce because I think it is more expensive in this store. I usually buy my produce in the local polish/international food markets, Jewel Osco or Meijer, when on sale! πŸ™‚ I think that if I am going to be buying non-organic food, why spend more?!

Questions:

Where do you buy your food?
What do you think about buying organic food?

XOXO
DOBIE

About cleaneatstotherescue

I am 27 years old girl with serious passion for healthy living and delicious food! I just created my blog, about my journey back to health, through clean food and exercise. I will be posting my own opinions about my experience with different foods, diets, exercises, etc. ***Please MAKE A NOTE THAT I AM NOT A DOCTOR, PERSONAL TRAINER OR A HEALTH PROFESSIONAL!***
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

