Gluten Free Banana Walnut Date Surprise Muffins

Hello!
In this chilly Chicago evening I want to offer you a nice and warm muffin recipe. I made those from scratch the other day. I wanted something warm and gooey, and crunchy,  and sweet! I know I have issues! 😉

Well,  I have a bunch of different types of flours at home. I have chickpea flour, almond meal, plantain flour, potato flour, corn starch, coconut flakes…. The list goes on and on! But what do I do with all these flours? They don’t behave like regular wheat flour. They don’t have gluten. My regular muffins always turn out dry, lumpy, hard, ugly! Haha! 😉

So I decided to mix some of those flours in my own way, my own proportions. They turned out really good. They were soft, moist, chewy, crunchy, sweet and I loved them. My father is always sceptical about gluten free stuff, but he ate like 2-3 of them and didn’t even notice.

I also added a little surprise inside each one of them. I put 1/2 date inside in the middle of each muffin. This little touch gave them such a nice texture.

Let me show you some of the ingredients I used and where you can find them for cheap.

COCONUT MILK POWDER

image

I bought this is a small indian food store.  You know those little stores with strange names. I see them all the time, but I never had the guts to go in there to see what they sell. This changed quickly when I see how much cheaper they are. Usually they have good stuff for less. Like a bag of almond flour could cost about $10-$12 online or in the natural food stores, there it would cost around $5! Sweet! 🙂

FUFU FLOUR- PLANTAIN FLOUR

image

I got this gem in the hispanic aisle in my international food market. It is called Fiesta Market. I am sure that with a little research you can find similar stuff in your grocery stores. By the way this is a hobby of mine- to roam around different stores and markets for affordable healthy foods and ingredients.

ALMOND MEAL

image

I bought this in my local Trader Joe’s. It is not expensive.  I use it in many recipes.

GF BANANA WALNUT DATE SURPRISE MUFFINS
image

Ingredients:

1/2 cup coconut milk powder
1/4 cup plantain flour
1/2 cup almond meal
1/2 cup stevia powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
pinch of salt
2 eggs
1 medium banana, mashed
1/2 cup vanilla Greek yogurt
10 dates (3- cut in half; 7-chopped)

Directions:

1) Mix the first seven ingredients in a big bowl.
2) Mix eggs, banana and yogurt in a separate bowl.
3) Put the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix, until well incorporated.
4) Add the chopped dates and mix them into the batter.
5) This batter makes 6 muffins. Spoon the batter into the muffin pan half way up. Put half of a date in the middle, and then top with another spoonful of the batter.
image

6) Bake at 350F.
7) Cool and enjoy! 🙂

image

XOXO DOBIE

About cleaneatstotherescue

I am 27 years old girl with serious passion for healthy living and delicious food! I just created my blog, about my journey back to health, through clean food and exercise. I will be posting my own opinions about my experience with different foods, diets, exercises, etc. ***Please MAKE A NOTE THAT I AM NOT A DOCTOR, PERSONAL TRAINER OR A HEALTH PROFESSIONAL!***
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

